top of page

How to Make a Detailed Plan to Success

Having a set plan makes achieving a specific task/goal a more manageable journey, and you'll be better prepared to stick to your resolution and overcome anything that might sidetrack you. When you create your plan, you are setting yourself up for inevitable success. First things first! Get a piece of paper and your favourite pen. Meditate before, play your favourite music, sit in your favourite spot.. whatever puts you in a great headspace. I do recommend writing it out instead of typing as they have different impacts on this exercise. Each underlined point should be its own section. What am I going to do? Try and be clear exactly what you will do, so you know when you've done it. Be realistic. Think through details. Why do I want to do this? Is this something that YOU want to achieve for you? Why do you want to achieve this?

How am I going to do this? Do you need to break it down into smaller parts? Do I need certain materials? How can I set myself up for inevitable success?

When am I going to do it? What date and time of day will suit you? Figure out where this will realistically fit best into your normal routine.


Is it well planned? Do a quick reality check on your plan.

- Is it realistic and well planned?

- Is the task/goal small enough for you to succeed, but not so small it makes no difference? - Useful for helping me move forward? - Clear, so that I know when I have done it? - Something that you value, or want to do? - Realistic, practical, and achievable?

What problems/difficulties could arise, and how can I overcome this/keep myself on track? What could get in the way? What are any possible blocks from you achieving this? Things within you; low motivation, forgetfulness, taking it out on yourself. Things outside you; other people, bad weather, the need for money, having to travel. Does it depend on someone else for success? Unpredictable things may also happen from time to time and interrupt your plans. Have a backup plan for when these things occur. Still with me? YOU'RE DOING SO AMAZING! Think again about the task/goal and decide whether you need to re-write your plan to deal with these possible blocks.

FINAL PLAN

What are you going to do? When are you going to do it (day & time)?


This planning process can work for something as simple as reading a book or as complicated as running a marathon. Pass or fail, you made an attempt and for that, you should be very proud of yourself!


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page